Coaching FAQ’s

Find answers to our frequently asked coaching questions, review the coaching FAQ’s below.

Q: I am a head coach of a U14/U16/U19 A Level team. Do I need to be CI Certified?

A: Not immediately, but by January 15, 2020 all U16 and U19 A coaches must be CI Certified. By January 15, 2021 all U14A coaches must be CI Certified.

 

Q: I am currently coaching U14/U16/U19 (B/C/Rec) and I have CSI. Do I need to do CI?

A: Yes, all coaches at these levels are required to be CI Trained.

 

Q: Is the Coaching Initiation in Sports Module mandatory?

A: Yes, it is a pre-requisite to signing up for CSI/CI and is now an online course that takes approximately 1 hour to complete.

 

Q: I am a head coach of a U14/U16/U19 A Level team. I have completed the CSI course already. Do I need to do Coach Initiation in Sport eModule?

A: No. If you have completed the CSI or CI course prior to 2015 you do not require the Coach Initiation in Sport eModule.

 

Q: I have CSI and I want to sign up for CI. Do I need to do Coach Initiation Online Module?

A: No. If you have completed the CSI or CI course prior to 2015 you do not require the Coach Initiation in Sport eModule.

 

Q: I am going to be a U12 Regional coach. I see that starting in U14 I need CI. Can I skip CSI and just do CI along with the Coach Initiation in Sport eModule?

A: Yes, starting 2018-2019 season U12R coaches have the choice of completing the CSI or CI course requirements. For more information on the U12 Pathways please visit https://ringetteontario.com/the-people/coaches/coaching-pathways/.

 

Q: I have CI but I have not completed CSI since my older daughter was in the Competitive stream. My younger daughter is in U9 and I want to coach her team. Do I have to do CSI or is CI enough training?

A: You must complete CSI Training to be qualified to coach U9.

 

Q: I have only taken CI-1 previously. Can I just join the second day of CI to become CI Trained?

A: No. The layout of the course has changed. If you have taken the CI 1 course in the past you must retake the two day CI course.

 

Q: I am going to be a coach-in-training this year. Do I need to do the Coach Initiation in Sport eModule before CSI or CI?

A: Yes. A CIT must be appropriately qualified in accordance with the team’s registered level of play. A CIT must complete the Coach Initiation in Sport eModule before taking either CSI or CI depending upon level of play and must complete the Making Ethical Decisions Clinic and Online Evaluation.